My Husband Changes Every Night Chapter 9

MHCEN Chapter 9

T/N: If you’re enjoying the novel, consider giving it a rating at Novel Updates 💕 And you can join the Discord channel here.


Chapter 9: I’ll Never Let You Go, Terriella

Unable to subdue his anger, Livanfell left the main palace and rode a horse.

As he tried to hold back his anger, he clenched his teeth and gripped the reins tightly.

Everything he had endured and tried so far was almost put to waste.

“D*mn it.”

Livanfell stopped at the northern tower of the imperial palace. He got off his horse and hurried toward the abandoned building.

After being crowned emperor, Livanfell beheaded all kinds of heinous criminals in the northern tower. All the executions of the ministers he said he had killed were all carried out here.

So no one set foot here.

There was also a dreary ghost story that, when approaching the northern tower, you could smell the blood that hadn’t dried yet and hear the screams of a woman asking for help from somewhere.

The emperor, Livanfell, also told no one to manage it, so now it looked like a land of death. 

Livanfell walked inside, breaking through the place that hadn’t been properly organized because people had stopped visiting. 

Where he walked, all the hard-grown sprouts had withered and died.

Screech–.

He pushed the door of the northern tower and entered. The bloodstains that couldn’t be erased no matter how much anyone wiped remained clear as if the bloodshed had happened yesterday.

Livanfell calmly passed the traces, accustomed to the sight, and headed for the first basement level of the tower. 

The sound of his footsteps engulfed the silence. Even in the pitch-black darkness, Livanfell was unstoppable.

As he descended the stone steps, he began to faintly hear the sobbing woman’s cries.

The first basement level of the northern tower, inside the iron cage, where no humans could set foot…

“You’re still alive. Mother.”

It was where the former emperor’s concubine and Livanfell’s mother was imprisoned, her hands and feet bound in chains.

Ohbububu!!!”

When his mother saw him, she shook the iron cage with her bony hands. Her tongue had been cut, so when she opened her mouth, all that came out was a muffled howl.

“I was worried that you might die on your own, but that’s a relief.”

Livanfell threw water and crumbly bread into the cage. Crying and shaking the iron cage, his mother hurriedly picked up the water and bread and ate them.

“You have to see how ugly the monster you created is, Mother. That’s why I didn’t kill you and kept you alive.”

Livanfell’s eyes flashed as he approached the cage. Hiding in the dark, he appeared in full view under the moonlight.

Frantically inhaling the bread, his mother stiffened in surprise when she saw her son.

“Why? Are you surprised that my hair color is the same as usual?”

“…!”

“That’s right. I finally found it. It took a long time. Finally… Finally,” Livanfell muttered, looking down with contempt at his mother, who stared at him like he was a monster.

“I heard an interesting story, Mother.”

“…”

“I heard that some mothers take sides and fight for their children without hesitation. Isn’t that wonderful?”

“…”

“You never showed me anything like that. The only thing you did was turn me into a monster.”

“…”

“But it’s fine. Now I’ve got the person I’ve been longing for.”

An insatiable obsession that had never been seen before appeared in Livanfell’s golden eyes.

Just looking at it sent chills down her spine, and his mother trembled in fear.

“It’s finally in my hands.”

Livanfell’s mad eyes glowed, and he clenched his palms tightly, like he couldn’t let go of it even if he’s dead.

It was chilling to see his upturned lips.

“I’ll never let you go.”

‘Terriella.’

Livanfell swallowed her name in his lips, stained with black desire, and closed his eyes.

A basement with no light.

Darkness imprisoned him.


‘Why am I here?’

I blinked.

“I’m so glad I met Your Highness on my way back from the State Council meeting. I brought tea in anticipation of meeting you… It’s a relief it wasn’t in vain.”

“…Is that so.”

“Doesn’t it smell good? It’s tea made from dried rose petals. It was common just a few decades ago, but it has become hard to find as much as picking stars in the sky these days.”

I raised my cup and drank, letting the words that sounded like a product manual flow in one ear and out the other.

‘…It feels like chewing on a flower.’

It was unimaginable before to sit this leisurely and drink tea.

I was always in a hurry to fill my hungry stomach, and sometimes, when Karajan oppa called me to teach me about tea etiquette, I was busy eating bread and cakes.

I had only started drinking tea, so the tea with dried rose petals was a little intense for my mild taste.

“What do you think? I brought this tea myself because I thought it would suit the beautiful princess who’s like a fragrant flower.”

The man in front of me, Marquis Lyranev, gave a spirited smile and clasped his hands.

As the day dawned, I was about to go to Jaerime or Mrs. Merina, who taught me the etiquette of the imperial family, to ask about the Marquis of Liranev.

Of course, I met the Marquis of Liranev on the way. That was the root of it.

Marquis Liranev recognized me as soon as my eyes met his from the garden. Then, like a hyena waiting for its prey, he held on to me.

‘Even when I refused and refused, he persisted… Ha.’

I bluntly ran my thumb down the poor teacup and examined him.

I remembered Livanfell’s words last night, telling me not to get close to the Marquis. He wasn’t one to say such things for no reason.

That’s why I should be careful with Marquis Liranev.

Perhaps misunderstanding my sigh, the maid behind me came up to me in concern and whispered, “…Princess, would you like to change it to your usual tea?”

She must have thought I was sighing because of the bitter taste. After all, she knew I wasn’t good at drinking tea. Marquis Liranev must have taken offense to that action because he frowned.

“Princess, those in lower ranks must be set right from the beginning.”

“Sorry?”

“A servant who arbitrarily interrupts a conversation without being called by the owner. It is arrogant beyond ignorance,” Marquis Liranev sharply said. The startled maid hurriedly lowered her head and stepped back behind me.

“Ah…”

I knew she risked being rude because always worried about me, but it wouldn’t come out that way to someone like Marquis Liranev, who didn’t know anything.

I smiled awkwardly and cleared up his misunderstanding on the maid’s behalf. “She made a mistake because she worried about me too much. But, since she is my maid, I’ll talk to her later, so she doesn’t make the same mistake.”

“…Oh, my, princess. It’s too much.” Marquis Liranev laughed. There was a slight disregard for me in his smile. “Even if you are from another country, you don’t have this discernment.”

“…”

“Now, after the wedding ceremony, you will become the empress of the great empire. If she had those inferior things by her side…”

Marquis Liranev shifted his gaze to the maid and clicked his tongue. Then he turned back to look at me. 

His gaze, filled with contempt, remained condescending.

“The owner, the princess, would also be the target of such gossip.” The warm light disappeared in Marquis Liranev’s eyes.

I knew people like this very well–smart and powerful people. And they’re the type who knew they were great and wasn’t satisfied unless they had everything.

People who easily looked down on others and trampled them.

I often saw people like him when I was in Lupeon.

He’s just like the men who set up a foolish and stupid royal family as a scarecrow and tried to manipulate them to their taste behind the scenes.

“Isn’t it time to hire an exclusive handmaid? If it’s okay with the princess, I’ll choose someone quick-witted–”

“Child[1],” I cut off Marquis Liranev and leaned back. The maid, who was scolded a while ago, was hanging her shoulders down in despair. 

“Child.”

When I called out again, the maid raised her head in surprise. And when our eyes met, she hurriedly came next to me and bowed.

She said, “Y-yes? Princess, d-did you call for me?”

“Go and get me the tea I always drink. This tea smells nice and looks expensive, but…” I stared at Marquis Liranev and tilted my head. “It doesn’t suit my taste, so I can’t drink it.”

“I-I will do that.” After receiving the order, the maid bowed deeply and left in a hurry.

As the maid walked away, Marquis Liranev said, “I guess the tea doesn’t suit you.”

“Yes. It just doesn’t seem right for me.”

Although he must have understood what I meant, the expression on Marquis Liranev’s face didn’t change, even his smile and his familiar way of speaking.

“Well, that’s tea. Sometimes it feels unfamiliar, and it doesn’t seem to fit one’s taste. But if you keep taking it, it changes. Try enjoying it a few more times.”

“They say that if you put up with something you don’t enjoy, you will get sick.”

“You will get used to it if you persevere and enjoy it.”

“It’s a shame I’m not the patient type.”

“If you don’t have that patience, you won’t be able to enjoy good tea for the rest of your life.”

“It’s fine. There are a lot of teas I haven’t tried yet.”

Just as Marquis Liranev was about to refute something again, the maid returned. He pressed his lips together and took a sip of his tea.

As if climbing a frozen mountain barefoot, a painful and chilling silence continued.

The maid quickly put down the new teacup and poured my usual tea. A faintly sweet scent drifted to my nose.

“It was a shame that His Majesty doesn’t enjoy tea either… It seems that tea time with the princess wouldn’t also be possible.”

“That’s too bad. I’ve never had this tea before.”

“You won’t regret it, will you?” Marquis Lyranev smiled benevolently. But his sharp, penetrating eyes were insidious. “This tea is hard to get. Think about it a little more, princess. It may not be there later when you want it to be.”

“…”

“It’s a tea that everyone wants, but it’s not easy to get. I would like to give you tea like that directly, princess.”

The sharp blade hidden behind the smile slowly revealed itself.

If I refused Marquis Liranev’s tea here, I would never be treated this friendly ever.

Just as I was about to speak…

“Princess and Marquis,” a solemn voice interrupted us. I turned to see Elihu smiling like the warm spring sun. “I was pleased to see you when I was passing by, so I hope you will pardon my rudeness.”

Marquis Liranev, whose expression hadn’t changed throughout our meeting, frowned for the first time. Then, he clicked his tongue and stood.

“Oh, my. It’s already this late. I was so happy talking to the princess that I lost track of time… Princess, I have another appointment, so I think I have to excuse myself first.”

“Is that so?”

“Oh, no. It’s a pity, Marquis Liranev. I will be staying in the Empire for the time being, so if there is evil energy in the mansion or there are people I need to bless, please do not hesitate to call me anytime.”

“…I will,” Marquis Liranev frowned and turned away from Elihu as if looking at something dirty. “Ah, Elihu. The princess doesn’t seem to know how to enjoy tea, so it would be good for you to accompany her.”

He then got into the prepared carriage and left. Elihu, who had been watching him for a long time, whispered, “Marquis Liranev smells bad. If it’s not the princess’s choice to be close to him, don’t do it at all.”

“…Smells bad?”

“Yes.”

Was he saying he stunk? 

Elihu smiled and sat opposite me. I looked at him directly. 

He said, “Right now, the princess smells like a fun flower.”

Oops.

Elihu helped me, so I forgot for a moment–this guy was more dangerous than Marquis Liranev.”

“What is this scent that the princess exudes? It’s like…” Elihu lowered his voice so no one else could hear him, and he slowly reached out his hand.


[1] Terriella addressed the maid as ‘얘,’ an informal way of calling someone. It could be ‘girl/boy,’ but it kind of looked weird when I put “girl,” so I chose “child” instead.



Posted

in

,

by

Tags:

Comments

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started