My Husband Changes Every Night Chapter 10

MHCEN Chapter 10

T/N: If you’re enjoying the novel, consider giving it a rating at Novel Updates 💕 And you can join the Discord channel here.


Chapter 10: There is a fine line between good and evil

My lips started to dry from the tension.

There was a calm silence, as if a storm had swept away everything.

I was certain that if Elihu’s hand touched me, he would discover my divine power. I had to avoid him.

However, my body stiffened, and I couldn’t move easily. 

It was when I stared blankly at Elihu’s slowly approaching hand with unfocused eyes…

“Elihu.”

Tak–.

I heard a voice that made me relax. And Elihu’s hand, which was approaching me, was blocked by him.

“What are you doing to my wife?” His voice was sharp, fierce enough to tear Elihu apart. 

As he faced Livanfell, Elihu rose from his seat and bowed. “Greetings, Your Majesty.”

“I asked what you’re doing to my wife.”

“…Ah.” Elihu pursed his lips and glanced at me for a moment.

‘…Hmm?’

He seemed to be trying to tell me something with his eyes… but I didn’t know what he meant.

“Elihu.”

“…Ah. It’s nothing. All I did was meet the princess on the way and say hello.”

“It seems to me that you were trying to do something to the princess.”

“Absolutely not.”

As soon as Livanfell finished speaking, Elihu frowned and denied it. As if to keep my secret.

‘…I’m sure I’m mistaken.’

Elihu straightened his frown and spoke as innocently as he could, “Your Majesty, I am a person who serves Semula. I will never harbor any other feelings for the princess.”

“Bet on God?”

“How can children bet on their parents? I can swear by my life instead.”

Livanfell narrowed his eyes as he scanned Elihu, then let go of his hand when he could sense pure sincerity in the man’s emerald eyes.

“…It seems that both the princess and I have become sensitive ahead of the wedding. I apologize, Elihu.”

“No. That’s understandable.” Elihu rubbed his chest and laughed. 

Then, he turned his head toward me. His clear eyes were full of questions, his gaze innocent like a child’s.

As if wondering who I was.

“Princess, I’m sorry if I startled you.”

“…No, it’s alright.”

“If you call me later when it’s convenient for you, I’ll give you the blessing of purification that I couldn’t do before.”

After Elihu offered his polite apologies, he turned around. He didn’t look back, seemingly as if I was okay now that I was with Livanfell.

Livanfell stared at Elihu until he turned the corner. Then, after confirming that his figure had disappeared entirely, he came to my side and asked, “Are you all right?”

He reached out to help me stand up. It was quite different from last night.

“I’m fine.” I tightly held Livanfell’s hand, trying to convey that I was okay because I was fine and my secret hadn’t been revealed yet.

“What’s next on your schedule? I’ll take you there in case you meet another stranger on the way.”

“I have to go to the dressing room for a fitting. I was told that the dress I was looking for had arrived.”

Rivanpel walked side-by-side and naturally dragged me along.

“Did you enjoy tea time with Elihu?”

“Tea time with the high priest. How was it other than annoying that he might know my secret?” 

“Then?”

“I met Marquis Liranev in the garden.”

His face, which had barely melted, became as cold as a snow mountain again.

“Who?”

“Marquis Liranev. Even though he was busy, he kept offering good tea… I couldn’t refuse more because many eyes were watching.” 

Livanfell pursed his lips. Like last night, I could see that he was suppressing his anger.

“It’s okay. He probably won’t come back to see me again.”

“What happened?”

“He slighted me, so I said I didn’t need him either.”

When I told him about Marquis Liranev, Livanfell’s mood seemed to sour. He obviously wanted to kill him yesterday but mentioned he couldn’t kill him right away, saying the future would change if he did.

‘Will the future change if Marquis Liranev is killed? But there’s no way anyone knows the future.’

Who knew what would happen in the future other than God?

Then, it seemed that something had happened between Marquis Liranev and Rivanfell.

‘I know nothing.’

Still, it didn’t look like he’d tell me if I asked.

“Because of me, the princess suffered hardship.”

“Why is that because of Your Majesty? It’s because of the people who slighted me. I know how to differentiate between perpetrators and victims. You’re not considering protecting me like a flower in a greenhouse, are you?”

When Livanfell didn’t answer, I knew I got it right. 

We didn’t know anything about each other yet, Livanfell and me.

No one had ever helped me in my life, so I wasn’t used to his help.

“If you’re going to do that, it’s okay. I’ll take care of my work tomorrow. You know it, right? I didn’t grow up beautifully in the kingdom of Lupeon, receiving only love.”

“Princess.”

“Don’t make my business Your Majesty’s business.”

Livanfell stopped walking, his face obviously showing his confusion when I refused his offer to go down the thorny road instead. 

“I don’t like it when my hands and feet are cut off, and they do what I can do.”

But was he really going down the thorny path in my place for me?*

Then every time I would try to walk the thorny path from now on, I’d think of Rivanpel’s help. It’s not like he could be by my side forever.

“I didn’t mean to cut off the princess’s limbs. I was just worried it might be dangerous for you.”

“Don’t worry. I have no intention of risking my life by doing something reckless. My life is the most important thing to me.”

Because I’m not a kind, loyal princess from a fairy tale.

“That doesn’t mean I intend to do everything, okay? If it’s a risk I can’t handle, I’ll throw it at Your Majesty, and I’ll run away.”

I had to live for a long time. Didn’t Mother say that as long as I was alive, I could have everything?

“Then, I’ll let Your Majesty take care of the rest.” I laughed bashfully at Livanfell. Only then did Livanfell’s expression relax.

“Are you asking me to clean up after you, then?”

“Yes! That way, we can split up the work. I do what I do, then Your Majesty can take care of the rest.”

“I think about it every time. I have a lot to learn from the princess.”

“…that’s a compliment, right?”

“I leave the interpretation up to the princess’s imagination.”

“I also have many things to learn from Your Majesty.”

“Like?”

“…Uh… I mean…” I didn’t expect he’d ask. “Hmm… For example, the strong determination to cut someone’s throat at any time?”

“…”

“Firm abs?”

He didn’t have as much as I thought. Our emperor.


After taking me to the dressing room, Livanfell said he would come back at midnight and went back. With our wedding coming up in a few days, it seemed like a lot of work was to be done.

After Livanfell left and I was done with the dress fitting, I called for Jaerim under the pretext of wedding concerns.

“Princess, did you call for me?”

“I was nervous because the wedding is just around the corner. Can you briefly tell me the order of the ceremony or the things to do that day?”

Jaerim innocently briefed me on the events for that day.

“…Then, the wedding ceremony is over. Mrs. Merina will probably inform you of more details.”

“So, nothing’s more difficult than I imagined.”

“And you don’t have to worry too much because, on the wedding day, I, Mrs. Merina, and those who will assist you will stay with you.

“Sir Jaerim, there is something I want to ask you.”

“Of course. And princess, please call me comfortably.” Jaerim took off his gaze from the paper he was reading.

“Okay, then… Jaerim.”

 “Yes, princess.”

“Why did you recommend Marquis Liranev to me?”

Even at my sudden question, Jaerim wasn’t shaken. Instead, an indescribable strangeness flickered in his eyes.

“I could tell at first glance that the Marquis Liranev was not on good terms with His Majesty. I didn’t think you wouldn’t know.”

“There is no particular reason. He was one of the prominent people in society.”

“Even with his relationship with His Majesty?”

“Politics is not something that should be affected by personal feelings. As I said then, not all power is good. But if you use evil powers for good, is that really a bad thing?”

“…”

“I’m His Majesty’s assistant. Even if it goes against personal feelings or it’s power from dirty things you shouldn’t commit, I’m willing to advise you to join hands if it helps His Majesty and what you’re doing.”

Jaerim was determined. His expressionless face, which was always cold, felt even colder today.

“But usually those forces end up being catastrophic, even when used for good.”

“There is a fine line between good and evil. I don’t think good and evil are very different, princess.” Jaerim put down the papers he was holding on the table. Then he rubbed his dark eyes and said, “If evil is helpful to me, it is good in my situation. Shall I give an example?”

“Example?”

“Actually, I think I know why the Perdiac experiment came into existence.”

“…!”

Startled, I hurriedly checked my surroundings. Fortunately, everyone except Jaerim was sent out, so no one heard of it.

“Are you crazy? If anyone heard you, you’d receive the death penalty.”

“Are you worried I’ll get executed?”

Jaerim calmly shrugged his shoulders. “I don’t consent to human trials. It’s definitely a crime, and from an ethical point of view, it shouldn’t be done. The experiment obviously should have been conducted differently.”

“…”

“But… The world is now perishing. When the world ends, everyone will die. Is anyone stepping up to prevent the world’s destruction right now?”

“Jaerim.”

“But if it’s still being done. What if the alchemist’s experiment succeeds, and he creates the world tree? What if the world doesn’t end?”

“There is no way that will happen.”

“What if the experiment is successful?”

“I bet you… It won’t be.”

Livanfell survived the experiment, but the world tree wasn’t created. I wanted to refute that the experiment was a failure, but it was a secret that I couldn’t tell.

“A while ago, a coastal village in a small kingdom located in the southernmost part of the continent sank.”

“…”

“There wasn’t even time to save them because the rising sea level hit the village immediately. There will be more of that in the future. That’s what the end of the world is about.”

“That doesn’t mean that the evil deed was right.”

“You’re right, but that’s what life is all about. Even now, we are living by trampling on someone’s sacrifice. You just can’t see it.”

“… How is that different from throwing people into a pit of fire and trampling on them to live?”*

“Of course, the princess is right, too.” Jaerim smiled and took the papers on the table into his arms. “That’s why I told you. I think there’s a fine line between good and evil. I don’t think what I’m saying is right. I know it’s selfish greed and it shouldn’t happen. It’s just my opinion.”

“Jaerim. If not now, you might regret it later.”

What would Jaerim say if he found out Livanfell’s secret later?

Jaerim, who knew nothing, just smiled bitterly. 

“Jaerim. Haa, so you recommended Marquis Liranev to me?”

“Yes. Marquis Liranev has no consideration, so it is common to ignore others, to show off, and it is like a model of evil that wants to reign above the others.”

“…”

“But he has soldiers and power, money, and land. If the peace treaty ends and war breaks out, his resources will be a great help to this empire.”

That was right.

The Continental Peace Agreement was in effect, and the truce was being followed, but how long would it last?

As soon as one betrayed it, it was certain it would collapse.

“That’s why I recommended him to the princess. If the Marquis of Liranev sided with the princess, you would be able to protect His Majesty and this empire.”

“Jaerim, you… You care very much for His Majesty, don’t you?”

“…Pardon?”

At my question, Jaerim’s eyebrows furrowed subtly. He didn’t want to admit it, but he didn’t respond.

“So you’re saying you recommended it to me for His Majesty’s safety?”

“…”

“In case something happens later, Marquis Liranev will be the strength to protect His Majesty. I’m sure his powers will help, but His Majesty hates him… So you mean you left the job to me.”

“Princess.” Jaerim didn’t deny it, and it was all the confirmation I needed. “I felt this last time, but the princess is too good a talent to be an empress. Aren’t you interested in the position of aide? These days, I’m too tired to work alone… ”

“Bye. The door to exit is over there.”

“How cold,” Jaerim matched my playful tone and shivered, drooping his shoulders and turning. 

As he was about to leave the bedroom, he stopped and turned back. “I’m sorry I tried to use you for His Majesty, princess.”

He meekly acknowledged it, using me as a chess piece for Livanfell.

“It’s fine.” I waved my hand, telling him to leave quickly. 

Jaerim left the drawing room with a face full of guilt, as if he was sorry for revealing his true intentions.

But he didn’t have to be sorry.

Because…

“I’m using His Majesty.”

After all, I used him first when I agreed to this marriage.


It was a dark night when even the moonlight wasn’t in sight.

In a bedroom draped in complete darkness, a hamster moved.

‘Mu’ skillfully got out of the hamster house, stood on the table next to the bed, and stared at the sleeping Terriella.

“You poor child with no way out.”

A holy voice flowed from the cute little hamster’s mouth. It was such a beautiful low-pitched voice that it was hard to call it a human voice.

“I’ll give you several parts. I’m not on anyone’s side.”

The hamster’s small hand patted Terriella’s cheeks, who was soundly asleep.

“I will not favor you who have not been chosen by me, but have my power.”

It was a sacred and holy night.

However, to everyone else, the hamster that just ran away from the house slapped its owner on the cheek to wake it up, and it looked trivial and funny.


*Not 100% sure about the translation



Posted

in

,

by

Tags:

Comments

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started