My Husband Changes Every Night Chapter 13

MHCEN Chapter 13

T/N: If you’re enjoying the novel, consider giving it a rating at Novel Updates 💕 And you can join the Discord channel here.


Chapter 13: God Is Too Cute

Semula.

He wasn’t the god who created humans in the beginning, but he loved them very much.

He wanted to give them everything like a parent, and that’s how the World Tree, part of Semula’s power, took root in this land.

Located close to the World Tree, the great Leonhardt Empire soon became prosperous, and its roots gradually spread widely. Soon all lands on the continent found stability.

‘My Mu is… Semula?’

It was truly shocking. 

Who could easily believe that the pet I raised was, in fact, a god? 

But being able to speak like that wasn’t the norm.

“You knew everything but still asked me. How clever.” 

Mu walked back and forth, his hands behind his back, and scratched his nose smaller than a fingernail.

“…I didn’t know.”

Mu stopped in his tracks, shock flickering in the hamster’s eyes. 

“Didn’t you ask me earlier if I’m not human?”

“That…” 

People said it out of courtesy, kind of like, ‘Let’s have tea together when the time is right.’

However, I thought it would be better not to say anything when I saw the expression on Mu’s face.

“Yes. That’s right.”

“Okay. ” You’re a great kid, too,” Mu muttered, brushing his chest. Then, he laughed and continued, “Did you feel my presence by absorbing my power? Since when did you know? Even though you knew, why didn’t you tell me? Ah, you don’t have to answer. I get it. You’re a careful child. Honestly, I thought you were lower than my son, Elihu, but I’ve changed my mind. I will rate you higher than him.”

Was Semula so talkative?

I stared blankly at the hamster talking endlessly in front of me.

‘Is this really the god, Semula?’

It was impossible to judge by myself. I slowly turned my head.

However, despite the uproar next to him, Livanfell continued to lie in bed with his eyes closed.

‘Are you that tired?’

I looked strangely at Livanfell, who was still not waking up.

Then Mu, who kept praising me, said, “You don’t need to worry about him. I put him to sleep.”

“Put him to sleep? Why?”

“He’s a child full of energy but lacks patience. If I hadn’t put him to sleep like this, it would be a heated morning as an extension of yesterday as soon as he wakes up… It would be better not to talk about this.”

“Huh?”

“No, it’s nothing. He’s not waking up because I put him to sleep, so you don’t have to worry too much, my child.” Mu climbed up on my arm, sat on my shoulder, and tapped me with his tiny arm.

“…I know this isn’t a usual case since a hamster is talking, but show me proof you’re the real god Semula.”

Mu muttered to himself like an old man, ‘What should I show you?’, and quickly went down my arm to go to bed.

“There’s nothing better than this to prove myself.”

Mu smiled broadly. And she stretched out his short arms to the side, not saying a word.

Shwaaa!

A holy bright light broke out, and at the same time, pink petals began to fall from the empty air.

“Wow…” I gasped involuntarily. At this point, I couldn’t help but believe it.

My hamster is really god, Semula.

The one who saved this world and abandoned it at the same time.

“Nothing more suits me as the god of life like a beautifully blooming flower.”

Mu stretched out his arms even more, to the point of tearing them apart, when he saw my startled expression.

“Ah, ah…!”

“Hahaha! Yes! Isn’t it pretty? It’s hard to see real flowers now here, right? Have a look! I said I would favor you, so I’ll show you this beauty as much as you want!”

Like a fireworks display, a bright light exploded, and petals of various colors fluttered.

N-no. P-please!

‘S-stop! You crazy god!’

Frightened, I tilted my head back and looked at the short, stubby hamster laughing maniacally and at Livanfell in bed.

Petals of unknown origin forcibly piled up on Livanfell’s body as he was forced to sleep.

‘…How do I explain this when he wakes up?’

Was I supposed to say that the hamster I picked up in the imperial palace’s corridor and raised was Semula, and since he was glad to see me, he dropped these petals?

With unfocused eyes, I quietly stared at Mu, my hamster, running wild.

‘…Did you actually wait for me to talk to you first?’

I wondered why he was so excited.

The god who abandoned us… He was so different from what I expected of god.


“…Are you feeling better now now?”

“Ahem. Ahem. It’s been so long since I’ve had a conversation like this, so I took it a little too far.”

“…A little?” I asked in bewilderment, looking at Livanfell, who was almost buried in petals.

“I’ll admit I went a little overkill.” Mu gasped, breathed heavily, and moved the petals the size of his body.

Why did he appear so cute and insignificant even though he was a god?

I laughed as I looked at Mu, who had worked hard to remove only two petals from Livanfell’s body.

“Step aside. I’ll clean it up.” 

I roughly pushed aside the petals on Rivanfell’s body.

“Then why are you a hamster? It must be difficult to move… My lord[1].”

Come to think of it, without even realizing it, I was still speaking casually the way I would to Mu. The one I was talking to was no longer the hamster I picked up a few days ago but a god.

“A god so great has to hide like this. I’m only getting this much attention because I’m like this. If it wasn’t for that, a war might have already started with many people fighting to have me.”

“Someone else would usually say that, but you did it yourself.”

“Is there anyone else who can do it? You looked back at me while passing by, and suddenly you wanted to bring me and raise me,” Mu said, climbing back up to my arm with his short body.

While walking, I turned around when I heard a squeak I wouldn’t normally hear. So I decided at once that I would raise the hamster.

There must have been a reason for all my actions that I couldn’t explain.

“And I need someone who can handle my power if I want to become who I really am. Unfortunately, no one could do that. Also, it would be best if you spoke comfortably. I’m a hamster right now, so if someone sees you speak to one so formally, they’ll think you’re crazy. Just treat me as Mu.”

No. Just talking to a hamster would make people think you’re crazy.

Still, I decided to treat him as Mu.

“But Mu, why are you here? Your house is in the bedroom of the main palace.”

We were at the empress’s palace, so we’re quite far from there. 

At my question, Mu slapped his knee. “How could I sleep in a place like that! My back’s sore and I couldn’t sleep at all! I can’t believe I used such a soft bed alone!”

“…What?”

Mother told me that hamsters were raised that way. 

Ah. Right. Mu wasn’t a real hamster.

“I came to say goodbye, but I fell asleep without realizing it because it’s so soft.”

“Where are you going?”

“I’m going to the temple for a bit.”

“Temple? Why?” I asked, then thought for a moment. 

Mu was a hamster in the hallway that I brought and recklessly raised. If he’s really Semula, it would be natural for him to go to the priests of the Great Temple than to me. 

“Since the sacred ceremony is about to take place so I’ll go to my children first, get delicious meat and maybe relax for a bit.”

Mu chuckled excitedly. Then he turned his head and smiled benevolently at me, his eyes twinkling.

“Don’t be sad. Didn’t I say I’d come back?”

“Who said I was sad?”

“I know very well you’re not used to parting ways. That’s why you haven’t been able to run away from Lupeon on your own even when you’ve been through that much.” Mu patted my arm with his small hand as if he understood how I felt. “You’re a lonely child. You’re the one who is most afraid of being alone.”

“When did I…”

“Your night will shine brightly with countless stars, so you don’t have to fear the night being consumed by the shadows anymore.”

Mu was like someone who knew everything… But, no, he grinned like a hamster.

“Oops. Someone is coming. I need to wake him up.”

“Wait. I still need to ask…”

“I have never abandoned you or this world.”

“…!” 

As if Mu had read my thoughts, he answered before I could even ask my question.

“It is all human’s wish that their god will cherish creatures, love humans, and be fair, but gods never promised anything, my child.”

“…”

“But I have always been by your side, even now. I am watching over you.” 

Mu struggled to crawl down the bed with his short feet.

“Oops. I need to hide my true identity. Nothing good will come if many people find out about me. It will only serve as a fuse that hastens the end of this world.”

“…Wait!” I reached out for Mu as he ran toward the bedroom door.

“The child is going to wake up. And I can’t help that child’s condition.”

“…!”

He really knew everything I was curious about.

If Mu really was Semula, I was going to ask if there was a way to save Livanfell’s body and those who suffered from the Perdiac experiment!

“Of course, if I use my power properly, I can fix everything, but as I said before, I have to be in my real figure to use my power. So, for now, it is impossible.”

Mu slightly opened the bedroom with his small body. Then, looking pitifully at Livanfell and me, he flicked his small hand.

“Don’t do anything dirty[2].”

Then, he crumpled his body through the gap and violently escaped.

“Wait…! What do you mean, dirty…! You need to clean this up…!”

I was about to shout and tell him to clean up the mess he had made before he left.

“…What is this?”

As soon as Mu left the bedroom, I felt something rustling beside me. Surprised, I turned to see Livanfell, who had just woken up.

Sitting up, he looked at the petals piled high on his body and frowned. 

‘You d*mn god. You should have put this away before leaving!’

For some reason, he deliberately avoided me and didn’t listen! He probably ran away because he didn’t have the ability to clean this up!

“Is it morning now? … Did I sleep until morning?”

On the other hand, Livanfell looked very confused.

“Wait. Yesterday… What happened? My memory is weird. Yesterday…” Livanfell touched his forehead, bewildered by the disconnected and tangled memories. “What’s up with these flowers?”

His reaction wasn’t strange since I was quite flustered at first, too.

“…Terriella?” Livanfel looked alternately at me and the petals scattered across the bed, obviously wondering how this happened.

“D-did you sleep well? Good morning. Haha. Yesterday, both of us must have been tired, so we fell asleep.”

It’s a ridiculous excuse. However, I couldn’t reveal everything honestly since Mu told me not to reveal his identity.

‘He should have taken care of this!’

Wait and see. You wanted something tasty, right? When you return, I’ll give you live mealworms as a special hamster meal!

“Since you woke up, I’ll call someone.”

I clenched my teeth, got up, and pulled on the rope.

I knew he’d continue questioning everything if we were left alone, so it was better to call someone. 

“Terriella.” Rivanfell stood up, calling my name. “Yesterday, I…”

He looked even more distraught than usual. I didn’t know if it was because his memory was randomly cut off or because he woke up in the morning.

It was clear that things were unusual.

Livanfell got up and tilted his head as he looked at the handful of petals he held in his hand.

“…By the way, where did these flowers come from this morning?”

I wanted to say a lot of things, but no matter how hard I tried, I couldn’t explain it. 

In the end, I held back my tears and smiled bitterly at Livanfell. 

“…Haha. Are you surprised?” Then I laughed, scattering petals on the bed into the air. “I prepared this surprise for the first night! Tada! Hahaha.”

A vague silence passed.

I didn’t know whether or not Livanfell would believe this. He looked like he was struggling to decide whether to thank me. 

It was then.

Knock–.

“Uh…” A panicked voice came from the other side of the bedroom door.

Surprised, I turned and saw the maids standing there, unable to get in or go back through the crack in the slightly open door.

And behind them, I saw Jaerim struggling to muffle his laughter.

‘…D*mn it.’

I clenched my teeth and closed my eyes.

Mu, you punk. I don’t care if he’s a god; I’ll kill him. He didn’t even close the door.

I had come to accept that god had abandoned me.

Otherwise, he wouldn’t have let me go through something so embarrassing.


[1] She ended up speaking with honorifics by the end of the sentence.

[2] He said 썩은 which is ‘corrupt/rotten’, but given the context, ‘dirty’ seems appropriate



Posted

in

,

by

Tags:

Comments

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started